Awards Events Featured

Fellowship for British Hairdressing Hosts 2019 Luncheon and Awards

December 04, 2019

The Fellowship for British Hairdressing celebrated a successful 2019 with their annual Luncheon and Awards.

Each year, the Fellowship for British Hairdressing’s Luncheon and Awards marks the beginning of the festive season, as hairdressing’s unofficial Christmas party. The event recognises industry achievements from the previous 12 months, celebrating Fellowship members as well as the wider successes of British hairdressing as a whole.

This year, the event had a fresh look, with Chancellor Ashleigh Hodges overseeing a move to a new venue, the InterContinental Park Lane, and a revamped feel with her own unique touches.

Opening the ceremony, Ashleigh said: “As we continue to move forward, it’s important for us to be inclusive, because we are here to give all of our members opportunities. Hence the importance of this venue move. No matter what is going on in the world our members are at the forefront of our decision making. I hope you thoroughly enjoy what I’ve done with the place!”

Joining her on stage was President, Ken Picton. He acknowledged the successes of the Fellowship, including the launch of the acclaimed online education platform, The Knowledge. “The Fellowship is all about creativity and opportunity for our members and sponsors and that is what truly makes us unique,” he said. “As we enter 2020, we have to be true to our core values, as what other industry can connect with the human spirit like ours can on a daily basis? Our projects have had a record number of applications this year, our sponsorship is the highest it’s ever been and our membership is growing daily – I’ve now been Mr President for seven months now and I’ve loved every second.

Chairperson, Simon Shaw, also took to the stage to recognise the hard work of the Fellowship Team Leaders. “Where else would you get the luminaries of our industry giving their time for free?” he asked. Thank you to everyone who has mentored for one of projects; you are all inspirational, you play a vital role in creating the future of our industry and the Fellowship.”

Before lunch was served, the Fellowship recognised members’ achievements with the awarding of medals to the Fellows with Honours and Distinction, the Salutation Awards for press and the Roll of Recognition for Fellowship supporters, as well as paying tribute to the late Sean Nolan from HOB Salons.

Following a delicious meal – during which Simon Tuckwell said a few words of gratitude, and Karine Jackson raised a toast to humanity – it was time for the Fellowship Awards, and the announcement of the 2020 F.A.M.E. Team. Before the fantastic four were revealed, Nick Irwin and the 2019 team said their goodbyes – with Nick handing over the reins after three remarkable years to new Team Leader, Jamie Stevens.

The final moment of recognition was for Fellowship Hairdresser of the Year – named as Sally Brooks, for her monumental contributions to British hairdressing as a creative, a business owner and a passionate educator working to inspire more people into the industry.

With the awards over, it was time for the after party – this year, hosted in the InterContinental’s bar with live music from Alex Francis. There was also a chance to get snap happy with masks and cut-outs of Ken, Simon and Ashleigh – the brains behind one spectacular start to the season.


Fellow with Honours

Paul Dennison, Ken Picton

Andy Heasman, Rush

Fellow with Distinction

Karine Jackson

Member of the Year

Marlene Lamont, Urban Hair and Beauty

Charity Award

Stewart Roberts, Haircuts for Homeless

Individual Salon of the Year

Toni & Guy Canary Wharf

Salon Group of the Year

HOB Salons

Fellowship Snapshot Image of the Year

HOB Creative Team

Fellowship Image of the Year

Andrew Heasman, RUSH

Colour Project Achiever of the Year

Lea Shaw

Project X Student of the Year

Dan Law

F.A.M.E. Team 2020

Brooke Evans, BE Ironbridge

Casey Coleman, CHAIR

Brandon Messinger, The Hair Movement

Jose Domene, Hare and Bone

Fellowship Hairdresser of the Year

Sally Brooks, Brooks and Brooks